Indian Summer Music Awards 2016

Country Award

Manitoba Country Music Awards 2015

Aboriginal Country Music Award


Manitoba Country Music Awards 2016

Aboriginal Country Music Award

Female Artist of the Year

Native American Music Awards 2016

Best Country Recording

Best Female Vocalist

Indigenous Music Awards 2015

Best Country CD


‘Til the Cowboys Come Home charted 13 weeks on European radio



National Talk

Canadian Beats





Manitoba Artists Earn Nods from Native American Music Awards, Indian Summer Music Awards

Posted on August 16, 2016 ShareThis Facebook Tweet LinkedIn Pinterest Email

Kimberley Dawn

[Billy Joe Green]
[C-Weed Band]
[Indian City]
[Kimberley Dawn]
[Rhonda Head]

Five Aboriginal recording acts from Manitoba have landed nominations from the Native American Music Awards (NAMA) and Indian Summer Music Awards (ISMA).

The nominations for 16th annual NAMA gala, which takes place September 17 in New York State, includes four local artists. Country singer/songwriter Kimberley Dawn is a double nominee for Til The Cowboys Come Home, which earned her nominations for Best Female Vocalist and Best Country Recording. Classical singer Rhonda Head added another to her growing list of accolades with a nod for Best Historical/Linguistic Recording for 500 Years. Legendary country/rock act C-Weed picked up a nod for Best Country Recording for Last Ride. Renowned bluesman Billy Joe Green landed a nomination for Best Blue Recording for his latest, Swingin’ Tomahawk.

Nominations for the ISMA were also recently announced, including three nods for Indian City for its song “One Day”. Kimberley Dawn and Rhonda Head also picked up ISMA nominations in the country and spiritual categories, respectively. Indian City and Rhonda Head are set to perform at the ISMA awards show, which takes place during Milwaukee’s popular Indian Summer Festival on September 10.

AWARDS NATIVE AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS INDIAN SUMMER MUSIC AWARDS KIMBERLEY DAWN RHONDA HEAD C-WEED BILLY JOE GREEN INDIAN CITY- See more at:,article/6842/manitoba-artists-earn-nods-from-native-american-music-awards-indian-summer-music-awards#sthash.6UtSHQqz.dpuf

Kimberley Dawn Nominated for two MCMA Awards!

On November 10, 2016, the Manitoba Country Music Awards, presented by the Manitoba Country Music Association (MCMA) and Dauphin’s Countryfest, will be held at The Metropolitan Entertainment Centre by Canad Inns in the heart of Downtown Winnipeg. This is an evening not to be missed as we bring the province’s largest country music community together. Several of Manitoba’s top country acts along with host Leanne Cater from QX 104 will entertain guests as the prestigious awards are handed out to the highest-voted artists. ABOUT MEMBERSHIP VOTINGWith the exception of three awards that are voted on and determined by the MCMA Board of Directors, the MCMA Awards will go through a two-stage ballot process. MCMA membership is split in to two factions: Associate (Fan Only) members and Industry members. All MCMA members will be eligible to participate in the First Ballot (Nominate). Only MCMA Industry members will be eligible to participate in the Second Ballot and must be registered with the MCMA as an Industry member by October 1, 2016. Fans’ Choice will appear on the Second Ballot as well as an Online Public Voting Ballot. The public and MCMA Industry member vote tallies will be combined for a total number of votes to determine the winner of the Fans’ Choice Award. Click here to learn more about MCMA memberships and to register as a member of the MCMA.We strongly encourage fans and industry members to spread the word and vote as we celebrate Manitoba’s country music talent.All final nominees are required to be Industry members of the MCMA as of September 1, 2016, in order to be eligible to participate in the Second Ballot. Click here to view the Rules and Regulations for the MCMA Awards.The MCMA is looking for sponsors and supporters of the event. If you are interested, or know of any individual, group or businesses that maybe interested, please email the MCMA at DATES First Ballot opens – July 1, 2016
First Ballot closes – August 14, 2016TOP TEN (10) NOMINEES ANNOUNCED – September 1, 2016Second Ballot opens – September 1, 2016
Second Ballot closes – October 16, 2016TOP SIX (6) NOMINEES ANNOUNCED – October 25, 2016WINNERS ANNOUNCED AT AWARDS SHOW – November 10, 2016AWARDS CATEGORIES Voted by Membership
Female Artist of the Year
Male Artist of the Year
Group or Duo of the Year
NCI FM Aboriginal Country Music Award
Song of the Year (Songwriters)
Roots Artist, Duo or Group of the Year
Emerging Artist
Music Video of the Year
Single of the Year
Album of the Year
Radio Station of the Year (Secondary Market)
Radio On-Air Personality or Team of the Year
Festival or Event of the Year
Venue of the Year
Voted by Membership and Online Public Voting
Fans’ Choice
Selected by the MCMA Board 
Manitoba Talent Development Award 
Impact Award